February Milestone In March

ME, OCD, AND WEBBBLOGS

This post has been sitting in my drafts folder since last month. I took my mental health break and never posted it. So here it is, a little late but as they say “Better late than never”

When I decided to start blogging in January of 2021, I had no idea what I was doing or if I would continue to write after my first couple posts.

When I wrote my first post (You can read it here) I didn’t publish it for almost a month.  I kept reading it and trying to decide if starting a blog and talking about something I kept a secret for so many years was a good idea.

One of my best friends ( shout out, you know who you are ❤) was very encouraging.  She told me she thought it was a good idea to talk about mental health issues. I talked to her about my concerns but she kept encouraging me.  She knew how badly I was suffering and she was hoping if I wrote about it I would be helping myself and maybe I would start feeling better and finally start enjoying life. I thought about it a little longer and then something came to me, a thought, a good thought.  Maybe by sharing my story I will help someone else that was also suffering, maybe my story could help others. Maybe, just maybe I could help someone that was going through it alone, just like I had.

My decision was made. I pushed that publish button and haven’t regretted it since.

There are days when my ocd is at its absolute worst and I feel like screaming. This illness can really take a toll on the person suffering from it.

On days when I am so frustrated and in what I call “stuck” mode, I write about it here. Some of it I share with you, and some of it sits in my drafts folder.

Writing about ocd helps me to cope. It helps me during the hard, frustrating moments, and gets me through some of the scary moments as well.

Here I am on my third year of blogging. I am so happy I pushed the publish button and shared that very first story. I am still struggling with ocd, but writing and sharing my thoughts, concerns, fears, joys, and the things I have accomplished along the way have helped me deal with this mental illness in so many ways.

Thank you to everyone that has been here for me. Thank you for reading my blog. Thank you for your comments and emails. Thank you for your support and your love.

Well wishes,

Christina

4 thoughts on “February Milestone In March

  1. When I started writing about Tourette, OCD and anxiety, I did so anonymously for three years. That helped me gain confidence in talking about it and also help me develop/understand the language I needed to convey what I was feeling coherently. Many times, I second guessed myself. I felt like I opened pandora’s box. But now, 11 years later I’m really pleased I did it. I’m much more comfortable in who I am now than I was just a few years ago. Glad your road to comfort was far quicker than mine. I had some rough years.

    Like

    • Hi Jeff actually I kept my ocd a secret from everyone up until about 15 years ago. At that time I decided to tell 3 people and my doctor. Still kept it a secret from everyone else up until I started this blog. It was extremely hard going through it alone and I am so glad I finally opened up and let it out. Writing about it is like therapy for me. I am still having a lot of difficulties but I am grateful for people like you that read my post and have gone through similar issues. It helps me so much. Thank you for your comment. 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so happy that you share your mental illness with us. I don’t struggle with OCD but I do have a few other illnesses. And what is great about sharing is that it does help other’s who struggle too. I think that that is one of the hardest things to do is feeling like you struggle alone with something. When other’s know that they aren’t alone with it, it helps. Many thanks to you Christina.

    Like

  3. Your so welcome, Christina! I’m very happy you made the decision to start blogging, the more awareness we can raise of mental illnesses that are misunderstood the better in my opinion! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.